Newsmakers: Winter 2018


Men’s head basketball coach Jeff Morgan will be Harding’s new athletic director. He is taking on the role held by Greg Harnden, who is retiring after 21 years as athletic director and 31 years at the University. Morgan will continue coaching basketball and add the athletic director duties starting in August.

Center for Student Success

Dr. Ann Brown was named director of the McNair Scholars Program in October 2017, replacing Dr. Linda Thompson who retired.

College of Arts and Humanities

Dr. Shawn Fisher, assistant professor of history, presented two Veterans Day panels at the Little Rock Central High School Museum on Nov. 10-11, 2017, one of which was presented alongside Elizabeth Eckford of the Little Rock Nine.

The Petit Jean yearbook was awarded the Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker recognizing it as one of the top six yearbooks in the country. The Bison was named a Pacemaker finalist and one of the top 40 student newspapers in the country. These awards were presented at the National Media Convention in Dallas on Oct. 25-29, 2017.

College of Bible and Ministry

Jordan Guy, assistant professor, successfully defended his dissertation at Asbury Theological Seminary to earn a Ph.D. in biblical
studies with an emphasis in Old Testament in September. His dissertation is titled “Whoever Is Among You of All His People, Let Him Go Up! A Literary-Rhetorical Analysis of the Exile and Restoration Topos in 1-2 Chronicles.”

College of Education

Dr. Meredith Jones, associate professor, was appointed as director of Harding University Northwest Arkansas on July 1, 2017. She successfully defended her dissertation at Harding University to earn an Ed.D. in educational leadership Sept. 18, 2017. The title of her dissertation is “Effects of Teaching Level, Subject Area, and Degree on Grades 5-12 Educator Learning Modes.”

Mitch Walton was selected as director of Harding University North Little Rock on July 1, 2017.

College of Sciences

Dr. Rebekah Rampey, associate professor of biology, was appointed as the chair of the biology department effective at the end of the spring semester. She replaces Dr. Ben Bruner who is returning to full-time teaching.

Dr. Charles Wu, associate professor of engineering and physics, received the Air Force Salutes Award on Sept. 20, 2017.

School of Theology

Greg Muse was named director of advancement Dec. 1, 2017, replacing Larry Arick who retired after 20 years of service.

University communications and Marketing

Candice Moore became director of marketing in August 2017, transferring from the office of parent and alumni relations.

Dillon Holsonback joined the office as marketing coordinator in July 2017.

Jonathan Murphy was hired as news director in September 2017.

Categories: Around Campus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>