Moving up

Front row left to right: John Keller, Laurie Diles, Tammy Hall, Cindy White and Daniel Adams. Back row: Brad Miller, Dana Steil, Mike McGalliard, Zane Gastineau and Wesley Parker.

The University announced several leadership promotions this spring across multiple offices and departments.

The Provost Office made two academic leadership appointments April 18. Dr. Dana Steil is assistant provost, and Dr. Mike McGalliard is the new dean of the College of Allied Health, replacing Dr. Beckie Weaver, who is retiring.

Steil has been an important part of the provost leadership team since June 2016. His contributions in the areas of institutional research and effectiveness have been invaluable in support of efforts to improve access to meaningful data to inform decision making across campus and to develop a culture of continuous improvement. He won the Teacher Achievement Award in 2011 and 2017. He will continue to focus efforts on institutional research and effectiveness and serve as a connection between the provost office and the faculty.

McGalliard joined the University in 2010 as the founding chair of the physical therapy doctoral program. He recruited an outstanding faculty and has guided the department successfully through the accreditation process. The quality of the program under his leadership is evident with a 100% first-time pass rate in four out of the first five graduating classes. He has extensive work experience as a physical therapist.

The Office of International Programs announced Daniel Adams as the new director of the Harding University in Greece international studies program. Adams was previously professor and chair of the department of art and design.

As director, Adams oversees day-to-day operations of the program and supervises faculty and students as classes are conducted and they explore the country. His wife, Meagan, resigned from her position as CFO of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra and serves as the assistant director.

Dr. John Keller, art professor, replaces Adams as chair of the department of art and design. He has been on the department faculty since 1979 and served as chair from 1999 to 2014.

Dr. Zane Gastineau, professor and chair of the engineering and physics department, was appointed dean of the College of Sciences.

As founding chair of the department, Gastineau has recruited and hired an outstanding faculty and successfully navigated the accreditation process multiple times to create new programs in computer, electrical, mechanical, biomedical and, most recently, civil engineering. Under his leadership, engineering and physics has grown to 230 students as of the fall of 2018. He replaces Dr. Travis Thompson, who returns to the classroom.

Dr. Brad Miller, professor and director of mechanical engineering, replaces Gastineau as chair of the department of engineering and physics.

The College of Sciences has appointed Dr. Cindy White chair of the department of chemistry and biochemistry. White replaces Dr. Dennis Matlock who will resume teaching full time.

The College of Arts and Humanities announced that Dr. Wesley Parker, music professor, will assume the responsibilities of chair of the department of music beginning June 1. He will replace Dr. Cliff Ganus who is returning to classroom teaching.

Dr. Laurie Diles, associate professor of communication, has been named chair of the department of communication beginning June 1. She replaces Dr. Jim Miller who is returning to full-time teaching.

Tammy Hall has been promoted to vice president and chief financial officer for the University. She has served as assistant vice president for finance since 2004 and has been instrumental in providing leadership in accounting and financial matters of the University including budget, payroll, accounts receivable, accounts payable and purchasing. Hall replaces Dr. Mel Sansom who had served as CFO since 2002.

Categories: Around Campus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>